From A Chestnut

Posted: 17.05.06 in Blogging

Well today again was different. The pieces of my mind are slowly starting to fall back into place. And in good time too, for my first exam is on Monday, dammit!

I don’t know whether it is just me, but I feel that I appreciate my surroundings a lot more than others… I enjoy the rain (to some extent), I love the look of the thousands of dandelions providing a yellow carpet through Gosforth (until the council lopped them all off), I smile when I see birds hop up steps, which other people just miss. The Uni has worked hard on its aesthetics, with red tulips surrounded by a small blue flower, like a bushy lobelia or forget-me-not. The Uni does well here, but I’m not sure it’s that appreciated… I would take photos but the tulips are passed their best I’m afraid.

I suppose then I am asking people to take in their surroundings more. Wipe the condensation off the window and look outside. Don’t do the Sudoku on the way to work (do it at work) and breathe in deeply. And hopefully it won’t rain tomorrow!

Comments
  1. wl says:

    First of all, I think I need to mention it: I’ve typed this comment twice, for the first time’s effort disappeared when I accidentally clicked a wrong button. All right then. My point is that the ‘today’ and ‘tomorrow’ are misleading. At the sight of May 17th, I thought O, the summary of the day was made so early-only a few minutes past midnight today. But then, as I went on, I realized this ‘today’ actually referred to the 16th and the ‘tomorrow’ TODAY (17th). Maybe it is because I read the post in the morning. It’s so bright in the morning that you won’t get confused for a split second whether it is a new day. I think if I have read the post in the small hours, I would have understood it much easier. …

    And if you have used ‘yesterday’, I think I might also have got confused at first,so I suppose it is really difficult to address the day just pasted if the moment you’re talking about it is only a few minutes or couple of hours later than midnight. By the way, it is cloudy here in Birmingham today.

  2. Steve says:

    Ok, I’m sorry about the confusion. Actually, when I started writing this post “yesterday”, but it took so long that I eventually posted “today” :)Having said that, perhaps I am guilty of writing today when I mean yesterday. It seems to make sense at the time of posting! I’ll try to be a bit more careful in future 🙂

  3. Steve says:

    Oh, and I’m also sorry you had to type this out twice… Happens to me quite often… I now make a habit of copying before posting, and if it fails, try to refresh – it often happens that if you refresh, you can still ‘POSTDATA’.

Leave a Reply

