Secrets

Posted: 08.06.06 in Blogging

Oh, people and their secrets. Isn’t it just pathetic?

Yes, I have secrets, but I am not a hypocrite. I keep secrets because it is the done thing. If everyone was open and honest, then telling people how you really feel would not be an issue. I suppose in a round-about way I am saying that I would be much more open with people if they were much more open with me.

I am quite liberal with trust: I trust everyone to a degree. But if people want to know how I feel, then I have to know how they feel. I felt I was getting somewhere with someone in this way in a recent conversation, but suddenly it went dead. Neither of us wanted to be the first to divulge. It’s not so much a question of trust in this case – more a battle of wills! I felt I had to win this and make a point. Hopefully the point has been made (in conjunction with this post). I think we trust each other enough to know not to spread our shared secrets, but sometimes secrets are just meant to be that way, to protect those we love.

And this is why secrets are pathetic. Why should something which is little more than a sentence be so potent?

Comments
  1. wl says:

    ‘I think we trust each other enough to know not to spread our shared secrets’, but the secrets will get spread anyway if the conversation takes place with other people watching and listening. At least I won’t tell and I don’t expect secrets in that situation. Probably your conversation didn’t take place in such a situation, never mind. Have a nice trip, dear friend!

  2. Steve says:

    Nah, it wasn’t that kind of environment.

    And I shall try to have a good journey!

Leave a Reply

