Mercury Rising

Posted: 10.08.06 in Blogging

The Mercury Music Prize will be decided shortly, and I was reminded by a BBC News article on the nominees. It asks which of the nominees you thought were best. So I thought I would have a look at them, and see how much it would cost for me to buy all the CDs, and decide in as fair a manner as possible which I thought was best. So I scoured the Internet and looked for the cheapest way I could buy all twelve CDs, and these are my results:

Artist Title Price Website
Arctic Monkeys Whatever People Say I Am, That’s What I’m Not £6.99 BangCd.com
Isobel Campbell & Mark Lanegan Ballad Of The Broken Seas £7.99 HMV.co.uk
Editors The Back Room £5.99 HMV.co.uk
Guillemots Through The Window Pane £7.99 HMV.co.uk
Richard Hawley Coles Corner £6.99 BangCd.com
Hot Chip The Warning £7.97 Amazon.co.uk
Muse Black Holes And Revelations £6.99 BangCd.com
Zoe Rahman Melting Pot £8.99 HMV.co.uk
Lou Rhodes Beloved One £8.75 cd-wow.com
Scritti Politti White Bread, Black Beer £7.99 HMV.co.uk
Sway This Is My Demo £7.99 Amazon.co.uk
Thom Yorke The Eraser £6.99 cd-wow.com 1
TOTAL £91.62

1 The Thom Yorke album from CD WOW! does not have a jewel case.

All of these albums are delivered free from the noted suppliers except Amazon.co.uk – however, they will deliver free if you buy both albums or otherwise spend at least £15.

I don’t think I would pay £91.62 for these CDs. Therefore it would be unfair for me to vote. OK, so maybe downloads would be cheaper. But these are fringe artists and I want to hear this music if they have been dubbed worth-a-listening-to. But I have been priced out the market. I’ll just stick to the albums I have, I think…

Comments
  1. weiran says:

    Nothing that great this year I think. The new Muse album is a bit of a disappointment.

    As for the prices of CDs, they definatly cost too much now. But still not at the extortinate prices of new release DVDs…

  2. david bamford says:

    Good point dude. I bet the panal dont have to pay for them thats for sure!

  3. GeoffBrady says:

    […] year I wrote a piece on the Mercury Music Prize shortlist, criticising the price of music to obtain the albums to give a fair vote. That’s my problem. […]

Leave a Reply

