Deadline Day

Posted: 31.08.06 in Blogging

Well, for Newcastle United, this has been a transfer deadline day to forget… last year we had signed Michael Owen. On another deadline day we bought Jonathan Woodgate (sighs). This season, we bought Antoine Sibierski. He had fallen out of favour at Manchester City when Stuart Pearce took over, having been bought by his predecessor Kevin Keegan. The value has been undisclosed.

Our transfer deadline purchases have generally proved to be injury-prone. So I hope Sibierski is different. I reckon that Sibierski has been bought for his heading ability, which is rather good. He has a powerful and fairly accurate forehead I recall.

I am also pleased that Newcastle United appear to have had a change of heart with regards to James Milner. The poor sod travelled down do Birmingham, excited at the prospect of signing for Aston Villa – which is a bit of an up-and-coming team, and he had already played on loan there last season. A fee was agreed, personal terms had been decided, and Milner was about to have a medical when United told him to come back. Good. I rate Milner over Viduka. They are different players, but I think Milner has more to offer our team than Viduka. But I guess this still leaves us short up front.

By the way, no one said they liked my ring (perhaps you are disappointed I didn’t get a piercing). I think it looks nice. Hmm… perhaps I’m wrong! 😛

Comments
  1. dave says:

    It wasn’t just up front that you wanted to strengthen,its in defence that your’e going to struggle,West Ham could have sold you a striker,we’ve got too many now.

  2. helen says:

    Sorry I like the ring, you can get a earring to match for Xmas
    Lots of love

Leave a Reply

