Friends Will Be Friends

Posted: 03.09.06 in Blogging

It’s been a long time since I complained about not seeing my friends on here. But the fact that I will be seeing them soon means that I can’t think of much else. They say that absence makes the heart grow fonder, but when they say that, you forget two things.

The first is obvious. You forget that it is true. So when you make plans to leave for a long time, you don’t anticipate how it will affect you. The second is that you will miss more people than you think. You might think you can get away with missing close family, but you will miss many more people than that.

Having said that, perhaps it’s just me. I miss my friends, but how much do they miss me? Sometimes it feels like I make great efforts to stay in touch, but the favour is not returned. Some of you might tell me to just make new friends. Well I have, but it doesn’t solve the problem. Perhaps seeing them a few times a year as a holiday will have to do.

Leave a Reply

