Stop It And Tidy Up

Posted: 03.10.06 in Blogging

Today I went to my first society meeting! Last week I joined the Students’ Stop AIDS Society. They had an introduction session this evening. The point of it was to tell us what the society does. I got the impression that although the society does well to educate those in local schools, and offers opportunities to go abroad and witness the devastation of the spread of HIV first-hand, it doesn’t do much to educate those at the university, or the local community beyond school. But nonetheless, you cannot argue that what they are doing is worthwhile.

It started with a DVD talking about the plight of those in Sub-Saharan Africa with the scourge of AIDS and the hindrance of poverty. Following that, we played a silly little game with some paper, and then had a quiz. Our team won, and here I am with my box of Thornton’s chocolates – the one with all the truffles so I am smiling as I write this.

I had noticed that they didn’t have a website, so I have volunteered to help them out with that. They seemed very pleased… I am nervous now – what aren’t they telling me?!

Anyway, I had my first load of lectures today. They weren’t at all intensive, though we did start the material straight away. I also had my first ever “double lecture” ever at Uni, and that time seemed to fly, so hopefully that will continue to be the case.

And that’s it really. Hope you are all well!

Comments
  1. dave says:

    I’ve got a nasty feeling you will end up running the website not just helping them set it up.

Leave a Reply

