Music Is My Aeroplane

Posted: 01.12.06 in Blogging

“I like pleasure spiked with pain” as the song (by Red Hot Chili Peppers if you must know). That goes some way to describing my day.

Today was World AIDS Day, as – if you are a regular reader – you probably know already. As such, and as a member of the Stop AIDS Society, this was our biggest day of the year. So after lectures I headed for the stall at the Union. We made a lot of money, by looks. We had a good spread of cake and biscuits, and we sold quite a few balloons for the balloon race. We had African drummers, and a few members of the media were around too. The balloon launch was pretty cool (photos to follow), and members of our society were interviewed. It seemed quite a successful day.

However, rather few turned out in red. I was a bit disappointed in that. A few conceded that they had forgotten, which I guess is fair enough, but a little disappointing. What disappointed me more, were the actions of my friends. One said “no offence, but I really don’t give a toss about World AIDS Day”. I regard that as a failure on my part.

Comments
  1. wl says:

    I wanted to know what people’s attitude toward ADIS is. But it seems you didn’t mention much. Did people participated in your activities spoke much about it (with some serious consideration)or just enjoyed their time? How about your society members? In fact I wanted to say that I still don’t know why we should pay special attention to it, because I still can’t see the difference between any disease say diabetes and ADIS. To me it’s just another disease which can kill. What is it so special about it? I need enlightenment.

  2. Steve says:

    Ok wl… here is some facts about HIV/AIDS.
    » Some 40 million people worldwide are currently infected with HIV, with about 4 million newly infected last year
    » The virus was discovered in a small number of cases in the mid-1980s and has spread very quickly
    » HIV is a virus that is actually rather difficult to transmit – unlike the flu virus, you cannot pick it up from breathing it in, you can’t get it simply brushing past people – there has to be some kind of bodily fluid exchange, and that doesn’t even include saliva
    » Preventing HIV transmission is painfully simple, but the advice is either ignored, incorrect or incomplete
    » Treatments for the effects of HIV infection exist, but are not widely available and current prices are rather high
    » HIV has a huge amount of stigma associated with it. Some people assume they have a magic immunity because they don’t belong to certain racial or social groups, which puts those people at greater risk
    If you want to find out more, a good website to start looking at is avert.org.

Leave a Reply

