A Change Of Seasons

Posted: 04.01.07 in Blogging

Today, I started the process of changing ISP. I was with Plus Net, and I have to say, I have no problem whatsoever with them. For £14.99, you get up to 8Mbps¹, a peak-time usage limit of 40GB per month, and every conceivable online tool to check your connection. However, compare that to Sky Broadband. I’m going on the Max package, which gives me speeds of up to 16Mbps, no usage limit² and all that for £10 a month³.

However, I am a bit wary, and possibly rightly so. I suspect that the features of Sky Broadband are much less numerous than Plus Net. Seeing as broadband is a minor arm of a huge international corporation for Sky, and broadband is more or less Plus Net’s sole concern, I feel that I would get far less attention from Sky if something went wrong.

So have I made the right decision? I guess only time will tell. However, I thoroughly recommend Plus Net and I probably should not leave. But saving £5 isn’t to be sniffed at.¹ When a representative of Plus Net rang me today, she said I was given 2Mbps and she could upgrade me to 8Mbps that afternoon… makes you wonder what I was paying for…
² Subject to fair usage policy, i.e. I don’t hog the line at peak times.
³ £10 for Sky Digital customers.

Leave a Reply

