The Magic Of Music

Posted: 04.01.07 in Blogging

I don’t think I can describe how important music is to me. If I’m not listening to music, life is generally dull. It doesn’t matter the genre of the music – it could be something outside the spectrum of my music collection – I can enjoy any music.

My New Year’s Resolution is to produce my own music. It’s hard. I need new software, new hardware, etc. Here is my plan.

I have complained about the price of music before. I don’t think it’s fair. I got a recorder for my birthday when I was about five years old. I was given a small keyboard for Christmas the same year. I was surrounded by music from a young age. However, I feel that the scope for many to learn an instrument is too limited for youngsters still.

And for someone like me that wants to create music for people, my range of material from which draw inspiration from is limited. That’s because if I want to listen to music, I have to pay for it. Why? I’m not entirely sure. Sure, if musicians are to carry on producing music, money is an incentive. But music is more important to me than money.

So I would release music for free. I don’t care about download charts, music sales, or my general popularity. If people want to listen to my music, then they bloody-well shall! That is provided I can…

Comments
  1. Dave says:

    I’ll try to get Dan to give you some advice because he’s recorded some of his own music.

  2. Danny says:

    i use cakewalk pro 24. there is a home version available for about 30 quid. it’s very good software to start off withalternatively, invest in a digital four track which will st you back around 200 quid.www.cakewalk.com

  3. XShellX says:

    Im sure you happy to hear that The Police are getting back together then. hehe

  4. Steve says:

    Would be good if it happens… It was a big falling out between Sting and Stewart Copeland though…

Leave a Reply

