My Grains

Posted: 06.01.07 in Blogging

Aren’t headaches amazing?

Last night I went to bed with the earliest signs of a headache. I was just about falling asleep so I went into my bedroom quite sharpish so that I wouldn’t wake up properly. That didn’t work.

In the end, I spent about two hours trying to think of nothing. But I only succeeded in thinking about all manner of things in the past. And this is why headaches are amazing.

I remembered all the nice things that have happened to me over the years. It also made me learn something about myself. I rely too much on other people’s compliments. All of the times that I think of being happy times are when I thought I was popular: being elected; people remembering me years after last seeing each other; even people turning to me at times of trouble.

Perhaps I should learn to draw satisfaction from other things. But there is a little vanity in everyone: people aspire to be popular. Or maybe it’s a good thing. Maybe it’s a way of letting me know that I haven’t upset anyone. Either way, I feel a little better about myself, and that can’t be a bad thing.

Leave a Reply

