All Greek

Posted: 23.01.07 in Blogging

On Facebook, there is a group called My last name is Broughton and I’m awesome! – of which I am a member. On this group page is, supposedly, the family arms. What intrigued me more was the Latin motto: Spes Vitae Meliores. Using a tool by William Whitaker, I have found a rough translation (and I mean rough!).Spes apparently has something to do with hope (Spes is the goddess of hope). Vitae means life or livelihood. Meliores has a whole host of meanings: good, honest, brave, noble, kind, pleasant, right, useful.

So either I am the living embodiment of hope with a load of extra qualities; or I live in the hope that one day I might be noble and brave.

Leave a Reply

