In The Queue

Posted: 22.02.07 in Blogging

I got a phonecall today from GCHQ, informing me that I was unsuccessful in my application for the position of Mathematician. The reason being that I had simply applied too early: my course ends in June 2008, and they want me for this September. That’s fair enough, and it was nice of them to give me a personal response to inform me of their decision.

I pretty much knew this was going to happen – I only applied as they don’t so often advertise for Mathematicians, so I thought I ought to apply this time round. However, they did ask that I apply when they seek new recruits around October this year, as they they did like my application. (Quite frankly I am surprised they liked it, it was threadbare. Anyhow, it’s a nice little ego-booster for now!)

Today, I went to the MetroCentre with Mum, with little in mind to buy. To be honest, the prospect of a breakfast at Wetherspoon’s was an attractive one. However, shocking as it sounds, Wetherspoon’s had no eggs. Risking your gentle hearts, I also report that in place of a fried egg, I was given two hash browns in addition to the two given. Not a fair swap, I don’t think, but I didn’t really mind. It was nice.

I decided halfway through the trip I wanted a "smart casual" shirt. "Smart casual" is a concept lost on me: either it’s smart or it’s casual. In any case, I thought I should have something in my wardrobe in case such a "smart casual" event arose. So I paid £35 for a shirt – probably the most I have ever paid for a shirt (though there were plenty in excess of that sum), but it was my favourite of the ones I saw. It came from Kickers (and from the website you can see the shop I bought it from, curiously).

I also bought another Dream Theater CD – Awake – for £3.97 from Music Zone.

Comments
  1. Steve says:

    Sorry mate, but extra hash browns with no egg yolk to soak ’em in just doesn’t appeal to me!! I don’t get ‘smart casual’ either…

    I think that the difference is merely the presence of a tie…?? The shirts I have could all be classed as ‘smart casual’, but also as ‘smart’, so long as there is a tie round the collar.

  2. Steve says:

    On second thoughts…that last comment probably just highlighted my lack of fashion sense!!

  3. Steve says:

    ‘Smart casual’ is just like a breakfast with no egg… It’s just wrong!

Leave a Reply

