Receptive

Posted: 28.02.07 in Blogging

I was with a group of friends the other day, and to my surprise, one echoed my greatest fear. Graduation day. “The worst day of my life”, as this person said it.

Our situations are similar. For both of us, our parents are divorced. From what I gather, it is common to us both that the relationships between our parents is far from civil. This situation would perhaps be less obtrusive if external factors (read influences) were removed. But hope of that is pure fantasy.

In essence, I have one graduation ceremony and a limited number of invitations. I have several vying for an invite, some to acknowledge my achievements, some to score points over other parties. The obvious decision would be eliminate the aggressive individuals. However, the removal of such persons could result in further withdrawals, and rather likely some ill towards myself would result.

As it stands, there are few people that have had the staying power to follow my achievements for any length of time. With the exception of the case of my paternal grandparents and my mother, my immediate family have strived to live as far away from me as possible without leaving the country. Having said that, excluding some people would be unfair for other reasons.

A lot of students would probably agree with me: the biggest downside of university is the end!

Leave a Reply

