Evolution Of God

Posted: 04.07.07 in Blogging

I don’t often write, talk or give any inclination as to my religious beliefs, but I was thinking about God and how he has progressed over time. It’s been a long time since I did R.

S. at school, but from the impression I got, God was vengeful at first. He didn’t like old Adam and Eve eating from the Tree of Wisdom. He chucked them out of Eden and had them on their toes. And after many years of lawlessness and generally horrid things God didn’t like, the population of the Earth was submerged underwater for forty days, save for Noah and his family and a fleet of animals. Fast forward to the New Testament, and God learned to forgive. All the sins of the world were consumed by the death of one man. So rather than punishing mistakes, God would have us forgive them.

Roll on the Twenty-first Century, and we sue the arses of each other. Perhaps not how the Lord envisaged how we would become. It was at this point I started thinking how I would change if were God. Perhaps this is the point you should stop reading if you become offended by what some might feel was blasphemous thought.

If I were God, I have the world learn not only to forgive, but also to understand. People should realise why people do bad things, rather than just fleetingly ignore it or seek vengeance. That’s how I’m beginning to view the world and it seems to make more sense. If you try to understand why people do things, you are more likely to be able to find a long-standing and better solution.

But then I ain’t God. And maybe he doesn’t exist anyway. But in any case that doesn’t change my opinions.

Comments
  1. Weiran says:

    You avoided the obvious question of “do you believe in god?”

  2. Steve says:

    I know.;)

  3. helen says:

    I want more detalis of what you would do if you were God. Come on you are God, what would be the first thing you would do/change to make people stop and think?

  4. Steve says:

    I’d create a world with people that didn’t need a god.

    Some people in this world seem to either need a god or think they don’t.

  5. helen says:

    Nice one.

Leave a Reply

