World Record

Posted: 23.07.07 in Blogging

I want to record music.

I know I’ve talked about it before, but it’s just too expensive. I’ve been on the BBC’s OneMusic How to… website, and it’s very informative, but it’s an eye-opener at the same time. The list of things I’d need is quite large, not to mention expensive, and the choices I have are confusing.

I want something cheap, simple and of good quality. But I guess that’s like wanting a brand new Aston Martin for ten grand. It’s not going to happen.

At the moment, I have Cubasis VST 3.0. This is about five years old. I have a 15W guitar amp and that’s about it for hardware. I guess it’s going to stay a private thing…

Comments
  1. Weiran says:

    A decent soundcard with ASIO support, simple recording software (like Cubasis) and a good quality microphone is all you really need.

    The soundcard will probably set you back £50-200 depending on how good a one you want. The microphone probably £50-80, and the rest is technical knowledge of how to record properly and experimentation.

    You’ll also want a very quiet PC so you don’t record that.

  2. Steve says:

    Well it’s not just that… it’s getting the sound quality from my guitars. I can’t really use my amp as a pre-amp as I get a bit of interference from other things.

    Oh, and I don’t have the technical knowledge!

Leave a Reply

