The Web

Posted: 24.07.07 in Blogging

Whoever coined the phrase "World Wide Web" probably wasn’t expecting how coy his choice of phrase would be. I’m talking particularly of the word "web". The point of a spider’s web is that it is sticky: those that get caught up in seldom escape. And that is true of the World Wide Web: those that are drawn to the Internet rarely give it up altogether.

But I’m no ordinary person. I’m getting really bored of the Internet. The only things I really use it for are Internet banking, instant messaging and World Of Warcraft (P.

S. ask me for an invite for a free trial, and I get a free month’s play!). I don’t really use email; I don’t browse through much; and I much prefer to have a solid album than pay for a load of ones and zeros. Fair enough, I do shop on the Internet, but in many cases the so-called savings on the ‘Net are exaggerated and sometimes, particularly after delivery, non-existent.

I wish there was a way to make better use of my time on the Internet… like financially maybe? 😉

Comments
  1. Weiran says:

    Try living without it for a month and then tell me how bored you are then!

  2. Steve says:

    Well I’ll be without it for a week in September… that’s pretty easy. However I do have an obligation to the Uni to check my emails every week, so I would have to do that.

  3. Zoltán says:

    Try William Gibson and his “Neuromancer” – you catch the one who coined the phrase 🙂

Leave a Reply

