Pump It Up

Posted: 09.11.07 in Blogging

I love the petrol prices going up. It’s like a grand social experiment.

You know those t-shirts that say "how do you keep an idiot busy?"? It’s like that. It’s also like the realisation of the phrase "a fool and his money are soon parted". I wonder how high petrol prices will go before the general public decide it is too expensive to drive. £1 a litre? £5 a litre? £500 a litre?

I mean, that is the problem with Britain today. We’re not in debt because things are more expensive. We’re in debt because we want what other people have, and we refuse to let a small thing like money get in the way. I mean, if my boss drives the NASA Mondeo, lives in a 200-bed penthouse appartment, owns a 250″ plasma television and owns Ireland, why shouldn’t I?

I concede I can’t afford a house; I can’t afford to buy and run a car; I can’t afford a Nintendo Wii, but I don’t whinge on national television about it. Instead, I acknowledge I don’t need a house, I don’t need a car, I don’t need a Nintendo Wii and I’m perfectly happy. I just wish others would realise what really matters to them, what really makes them happy, and stop striving for things that ultimately make them annoying bastards. 🙂

Comments
  1. Weiran says:

    People have always wanted better for themselves, whether its things or some other form. But you can’t compare that to petrol, as many people need petrol to run their daily lives.

    And don’t give me that public transport bullshit you usually gush out with, its just not good enough.

  2. Steve says:

    Absolute garbage, I’m sorry. Most people live in houses without a swimming pool – it’s not perfect, but we make do. The fact that an alternative is available doesn’t seem to wash with most… why?

    And people say it isn’t good enough. Why?

    And people say they need petrol? Why? It’s rubbish. What if petrol production was tightly squeezed? Priority I would assume would go to public transport and emergency services. I find it depressing that the British public think they need petrol. Absolute garbage. On the whole, Britain is just selfish and lazy.

Leave a Reply

