Beginning Anew

Posted: 29.12.07 in Blogging

With New Year’s Day just a couple of days away, many will have turned to thinking about making some resolutions to keep next year. But I’m not sure what to do myself.

I remember discussing this with someone a few years ago. He said he didn’t keep New Year’s resolutions, since he made himself perfect by making appropriate changes as they arose. He is not altogether that popular a person by all accounts, so clearly that isn’t something I aspire to. In any case, I would like to make a significant improvement in my life.

But in what direction should I go? I’m far from perfect, and as such there are many avenues I could go down. My initial inclination was to just promise to have breakfast every day. Perhaps I should try to record a song a week, or something like that. Or perhaps I should try to get myself more organised?

What do you think?

Comments
  1. Weiran says:

    Get yer hair cut!

    Seriously though, how about settings some goals for running or some shit. Don’t you graduate this year too?

  2. wl says:

    How long is your hair? I thought it was pretty short and wanted to suggest that you leave it to grow a bit longer.. at least as long as Graham Coxon’s? I just think when you are young and have a headful of hair you’d better avoid very short hair. And you mentioned before that you would give us a picture of you with black hair next time you dye it to black. So?? :)So it seems you visit Kent twice a year. I went to Canterbury two weeks before Christmas and I liked it cause the city looked tranditional and it has a big Cathedral where you can go when you feel low. I passed Sittingbouren, it isn’t distinctive from other stops though. Haha. Anyway, next time when you visit Kent, come over to London (I’m not sure but I think you have to change at London anyway). I’ll buy you coffee. I said this to every friend, and three friends have arranged to come over in Feb and Mar to have a free cup of coffee. You are very welcome too.

  3. Steve says:

    Weiran, yes I do graduate this year, and I already have my running goals.wl, I did dye my hair, and it is quite short – it certainly isn’t long. I wasn’t happy with the extremely slow rate at which it was growing, so I decided to have it fairly short. I’ve had a few compliments, so I guess it can’t be bad at all!

    I would have had a picture if someone had taken one! Somehow I managed to get away without having one taken!

    And thanks for the invitation for a coffee (though I’m more a tea man!). Usually though, because of the timetabling of trains, my stay in London is little more than an hour, in which time I have to get from Kings Cross to Victoria or vice versa. Thanks though, and I’ll certainly contact you if my stay in London can be made longer!

Leave a Reply

