Web 3.0

Posted: 10.01.08 in Blogging

I have my site registered on CommandShift3.com. Visitors are given a choice of two sites and are given a sample image of both. The visitor then chooses the one he or she thinks "looks best". The process is repeated over and over again until the visitor either questions his or her sanity or finds something to do.

I have a few problems with it, to be honest. You can check on my site to see how it is doing at CommandShift3. It isn’t doing so well. This is because whereas CommandShift3 should be celebrating good design, it simply rewards those whose websites are a distraction from its purpose. This is because most people don’t know what web design is.

For a start, it takes experience. I’ve only been doing web design for just over four years now. Design has changed a lot since I started. There is this thing that came about called "Web 2.0", where everything on the web is meant to look like it was made out of glass. Backgrounds need to have diagonal graded stripes, and the only colours you are allowed are electric blue, pink, black and white. And every reader is a sucker to a great big seemingly irrelevant photo. Apparently, that is what constitutes good design. Bollocks.

I propose "Web 3.0". Websites serve a purpose — and that is not just to look pretty. I see Web 2.0 inspired sites as being the ‘bimbo’ sites of this world (wide web). For the most part, websites have a purpose. Design is secondary to that purpose. The design of a site is meant to help that purpose. That is why Facebook looks simple. It is why the best blogs are easy to read and navigate. It is why the best websites load quickly.

As soon as everyone else learns that web design isn’t about diverting eyes away from the site’s very purpose, we will have a proper web revolution.

Lesson of the Day

If you see a website made from glass, you have permission from me to smash it with a hammer.

Comments
  1. Marcelo says:

    Hi Steve, although I agree in most you said, I think you are underestimating the importance of “eye appeal” in a website design. I know I know…content is king blah blah blah…

    I totally agree…but website with an “ok design” and good content is not nearly as good as one with good content and great design.
    How often do you visit Jacob Nielsen’s site?

    I also know good design is not just about pretty graphics..but they are a big part of it.

  2. Weiran says:

    Web 3.0 already has a definition, and it’s got nothing to do with design, and is at least 10 years away.

  3. Steve says:

    Marcelo, thanks for visiting! I concede that making a site appealing to the eye is an important objective to ensure that visitors return. I just think that some designers go for overkill with ridiculously elaborate designs. It is one reason why I hate Flash websites.

    I see your point, good content with bad design is a bad site, from a viewer’s perspective. But when a designer goes for style over substance, that is just as bad in my opinion.

  4. Steve says:

    @Weiran – then I propose Web 2.5, and I want it now!

Leave a Reply

