Dreams

Posted: 18.11.07 in Blogging

A few nights ago, I was speaking to a friend of mine who outlined his ambitions for the future: become financially self-sufficient by the age of 30. I admire him for that, though I have my doubts. Perhaps it isn’t fair to doubt him: he is clearly able to command a lot of money with his skill and knowledge; but to be that financially sound is quite an undertaking to say the least.

But after finishing my homework a few nights ago at about 1.15am, with my brain still buzzing from topology and functional analysis, I thought about all the dreams I’ve had… and I set about listing them:

prime minister, guitarist, drummer, frontman, bassist, keyboardist, doctor of medicine, comic, cartoonist, lyricist, poet, internet millionaire, software engineer, child prodigy, rally driver, motorcyclist, bus driver, lorry driver, pilot, landscape gardener, footballer.

The thing in common with all these, is that it didn’t take much to persuade myself that they were just dreams, and not my destiny. The problem is that I have a lot of ideas, but not the ambition to realise them.

Once upon a time, this was a different story. My dreams were few and close by: I would strive towards them, and made some headway to making my dreams come true. I think the problem is that though I would have been able to achieve some of my goals, I hadn’t ever really been encouraged to reach them, and in some cases I’d been actively discouraged.

People don’t expect anything from me, it seems. People are confident in that I am able to do a given job well, but don’t feel compelled to encourage me to broaden my horizons.

Comments
  1. Weiran says:

    Perhaps its not the number of dreams that matters anymore, but finding the right one. Once you found something you truly want to achieve, then anyone should have the ambition to do so.

Leave a comment